How do I make my doll hollow?

Test on making a core to make my ball jointed doll hollow

As you all know, ball jointed dolls are usually hollow because they need a stringing system. After making some experiences with a polymer clay called Cernit and  with Chavant plasticine, I decided to give La doll stone clay a try.

A lot of artists that work with La doll use styrofoam to make a core:

ball jointed doll styrofoam core

Picture belongs to aimi doll

Making a core of styrofoam is a lot of work. Although this method is very well known in the BJD world and a lot of artist use this methoda, I must admit that I hope there are other ways out there =)Ways that involve more sculpting and less scetching and cutting out styrofoam…I hope you get my point.

Could I use my chavant plasticine to make a core?

I still have some plasticine and made a test with it. I made a simple ball with the plasticine, put some transparent film around it and finally, I rolled some La doll over the plasticine ball.

I’m just going to wait till the clay ball dries and cut it apart to see if I can remove the plasticine clay without having a problem. I can’t think of a reason why this method shouldn’t work….wish me luck!=)

The clay that I plan using for my bjd core (if this method works)looks like this:

ball jointed doll core

 

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

