My Chavant Clay has arrived!!=)

Yesterday my chavant clay NSP arrived and I am curious about how the work with this clay will turn out.

I ordered it in soft, because I read that chavant is a plasticine that comes in grades that are way harder than regular plasticine or Polymer Clays like Super Sculpey. Reasons why I think the clay may turn out to be perfect for me are:

  • It contains no sulphur, meaning I could use silicon molds in future if I wanted to
  • Plasticine never gets hard and can be reused over and over again (=more economic, plus I save some money)
  • The hard texture will allow me to carve things out of the clay
  • The soft texture while it’s warm will make it easy for me to sculpt, to add or remove things here and there etc.

These are the main reasons why I finally chose to buy this clay. I used Cernit Polymer Clay before but didn’t like the odour while baking it in the oven and I experienced some difficulties while sculpting. (But I love the look of Cernit objects, especially dolls, so I might experiment further with it another time)

That’s all for today, I’ll write to tell you about the first impression of the clay in my next post. Have a nice day!

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

