Making my own ball jointed doll-The blueprint

Yippiee I am finally structured and have decided to make a sketch for my ball jointed doll

My aim is to make my own ball jointed doll. After experiencing some ups and downs during my doll making project that I started in November, I have now decided to start again and  post my new journey.

My aim is to make my own ball jointed doll. After experiencing some ups and downs during my doll making project that I started in November, I have now decided to start again and  post my new journey.

The ball jointed doll I am planning to make should be a teenager, that’s why I now made a  rough sketch of the doll.

The main idea behind the making of a blueprint, a sketch,was to determine the height of the doll and to get  the proportions right.

There are some essential rules when it comes to the human proportions. Artists measure the body in head lengths. The average european body would be 7,5 or 8 heads high. A 14-year-old would be about 7 heads high.

Haha my sketch is not that beautiful, I admit, but well, it was more an attempt to get the proportions right, rather than creating a perfect sketch =)

In order to be sure about the head lengths, I checked Hildegard Gunzel’s book “Creating Original Porcelain Dolls” . Here are some examples from Günzel’s doll book :

creating your own porcelain dollgunzel book creating original porcelain dolls

Well, this was my first step at making myown ball jointed doll. I made a blueprint of my future bjd and took the first (fresh )step of my doll making process. This time I will stay focussed!

Oh and by the way, just for those of you who wonder why I sometimes call the lady ‘Günzel’ and at times ‘Gunzel’: well originally  her name is  Günzel, as she is a german doll artists, but I sometimes write Gunzel, because that’s how she is referred to in the english speaking world.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

