Will paperclay and i ever be friends? The beginning of sculpting a bjd

Doll making. That’s my new project i will be focussing on from now on! And yes, i am quite excited. After doing a lot of research and deciding which clay to work with, i ordered some materials and  finally got started. The thing is, i am a quite impatient person and therefore had a lot of material changes before i found the right material to work with. I have decided to go for an oil based clay for my prototype doll. Why? Because it’s a soft clay that doesn’t harden, which means it can always be reused for my master dolls (incase this becomes a hobby I’ll do for a looong time).

Unfortunately, i went for an extremely cheap oil based clay and had to learn that sometimes  its better to invest more if you want a real quality product. The clay is supposed to be for children but it is extremely hard and doesn’t soften when you use your hands to form small soft balls. So what did i do? Because i really really wanted to get started and couldn’t wait any longer, i went to buy new material and hoped to find a better oil clay. But the only thing i could find was PAPERCLAY. I thought well, paperclay is one of  THE favorite material of bjd makers, and it’s really cheap-so i bought 4 small packages=2 kilos. But as you might have guessed already, paperclay and i did not get friends and i think we never will.

My personal opinion about paperclay: i have made experience with DAS paperclay and  HEMA-boetserklei(dutch product) so far. Both of them had a strong chemical smell (people with migraine should beware) and needed a lot of water to become soft and less resistant.

Apart from these strong contra aspects, i guess i can work more relaxed with a material that doesn’t air dry within hours.

But luckily, i now, after putting the paperclay aside- bought a good oil based clay and it seems like we could become good friends =)

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Will paperclay and i ever be friends? The beginning of sculpting a bjd

  1. I know what you mean about the DAS clay. I am not a fan of it either. I have been using Chavant NSP (Non-Sulphur Plasticine) It comes in soft, medium, hard. I find I like the medium, or the soft/hard mixed to a consistency I like. There are several online stores that sell all sorts of clays at reasonable prices. Let me know if you would like me to give you that info. Also if you want to make a mold in a silicone product, the oil based clay has to be sulphur free, so that it doesn’t create problems with the silicone. You probably already know that though. Anyway, thought I’d put in my 2cents in. BTW, where did you get your Proportions of the Human Body? I found it in deviantART.com. Perhaps you did too?

    Kind Regards,
    Michelle C

    • nikedolls says:

      thanks a lot michelle for commenting and sharing your thoughts on the materials i wrote about. It’s very kind of you to mention the plastiline you are using, Chavant, i had not heard about that brand yet.I would appreciate it if you could share your experiences with the clay. Do the soft and medium clays become soft through your hands or is it sometimes necessary to use artificial heat,as this brand contains a lot of wax?
      I love plastiline but everywhere i look it’s just available in small quantities, which is expensive and not very useful if you’re busy with a doll that will definately be bigger than a barbie sized doll. oh and yeah i also got the proportion info from cedarseed on deviantart =) greetings, nike

Leave a Reply

